unofficially super furry animals - sfa - News. The Super Furry Animals, an SFA fansite, super furry animals - unofficially.




posted: November 11, 2004

SUPER FURRY ANIMALS frontman GRUFF RHYS has unveiled full details of his forthcoming debut solo album.

As previously revealed on NME.COM, the band's label Placid Casual will release the record in January 2005. Clocking in at 29 minutes and containing 11 songs, 'Yr Atal Genhedlaeth' (which translates roughly as 'The Stuttering Generation') was recorded with Gorwel Owen at Stiwdio Ofn at various points between summer 2003 and spring 2004.

The full tracklisting is:

'Yr Atal Genhedlaeth'('The Stuttering Generation')
'Gwn Mi Wn' ('Yes I Know')
'Epynt' (It's a mountain in mid-Wales)
'Rhagluniaeth Ysgafn' ('May My Destiny Be Light')
'Pwidin Wy 1' ('Egg Pudding 1')
'Pwidin Wy 2' ('Egg Pudding 2')
'Y Gwybodusion' ('Experts')
'Caerffosiaeth' ('Sewage City')
'Ambell Waith' ('Remembering')
'Ni Yw Y Byd' ('We Are The World')
'Chwarea'n Troi'n Chwerw' ('When Play Turns Sour')

All songs are originals, which the exception of the closing song, a cover of a Welsh language standard which Rhys says "haunted me through my childhood".

Rhys said of the album: "It came together quite accidentally. I didn't initially plan to make a record.

"We're in a luxurious position as a band (Super Furry Animals) where we always have far too many songs anyway. Since we did 'Mwng' (SFA's 2000 Welsh language album) I've been collecting ideas for lyrics, and it took this long to get together."

The star added" "I'm considering splitting up after this record. I'm not sure exactly where, horizontally, or vertically."

SFA are also hard at work on their seventh studio album - the follow up to 2003's 'Phantom Power' - to be released on Epic during spring 2005. Rhys told NME recently that the album "has an orchestral feel to it". The band are reported to be finishing the mixing of the album in Brazil shortly.



posted: November 06, 2004


SUPER FURRY ANIMALS are the latest artists to compile their 'UNDER THE INFLUENCE' compilation.

Each of the band have picked three songs for the album, set for release on January 31. Tracks featured on the album include Joey Beltram's 'Energy Flash', Dawn Penn's 'You Don't Love Me (No No No)' as well as songs by Beach Boys, Undertones, MC5 and Underworld. The full tracklisting is:

The Beach Boys - 'Feel Flows' (Bunf)
Datblygu - 'Casserole Efeillaid' (Gruff)
The Undertones - 'My Perfect Cousin' (Bunf)
The MC5 - 'Kick Out The Jams' (Guto)
Gorky's Zygotic Mynci - 'Christina' (Gruff)
Sly & The Family Stone - 'Family Affair' (Daf)
Humanoid - 'Stakker Humanoid' (Cian)
Underworld - 'Rez' (Daf)
Bizet - 'Pearl Fishers' (Cian)
ELO - 'Telephone Line' (Daf)
Dennis Wilson and Rumbo - 'Lady' (Guto)
Meic Stevens - 'Ghost Town' (Gruff)
Dawn Penn - 'You Don't Love Me (No No No)' (Guto)
Joey Beltram - 'Energy Flash' (Cian)
Hardfloor - 'Acperience' (Bunf)

Previous artists to make an 'Under The Influence' compilation include Morrissey, Ian Brown and Paul Weller.



Oct 26 2004

The frontmen of The Manic Street Preachers and The Super Furry Animals have paid tribute to John Peel.

Manics' singer James Dean Bradfield said: "It was because of him I got to hear some of the most obscure but influential music I ever heard."

"He was a lifeline to hearing music I would never have heard otherwise. He was a portal to a whole new world."

Gruff Rhys, of the Super Furries, said: "He was very inclusive of all kinds of music, very open-minded, and introduced a lot of diverse music to the public.

"He championed Welsh language music and for years was the only DJ on national radio who was willing to embrace it.

"He was very wary of trends such as Britpop, he was introducing people to drum 'n' bass and techno, things that were going on outside of the media."

page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56
Melonie Walter       All Rights Reserved ©2003 - 2016       melonie at Top^