unofficially super furry animals - sfa - News. The Super Furry Animals, an SFA fansite, super furry animals - unofficially.


Gruff Rhys' Separado Premieres at Canadian Film Festival - 29/03/2010

Gruff Rhys & Tony Da Gatorra Album Terror Of Cosmic Loneliness & Live Dates


gruff and gatorra

SWN presents Tony Da Gatorra vs Gruff Rhys
Thursday 29th July
Clwb Ifor Bach
Tickets £12 adv exclusively from Tony Da Gatorra and Gruff Rhys are proud to announce their forthcoming collaborative album, The Terror Of Cosmic Loneliness. This musically unorthodox, experimental record will receive a limited release in July. Tony and Gruff will also perform a handful of live shows to coincide with the album's release, including a debut UK date at Cardiff's Clwb Ifor Bach on 29th July, and the Field Day festival in London on 31st July.

Tony Da Gatorra is a Brazilian TV and VCR repairman, musical freedom fighter and the inventor of his own unique 'Gatorra' instrument. Part drum machine, part guitar, the Gatorra provides the unique sonic style of Tony's peace-loving protest songs and features heavily throughout The Terror Of Cosmic Loneliness.

As a massive fan of Tony, Gruff set about tracking down the cult hero during his travels throughout South America (an adventure that also lead to road trip movie, Separado!).

Having finally met, the pair undertook their first gig together and promptly booked in to a Sao Paulo recording studio to begin rehearsals...

Gruff takes up the story: We spent 5 days rehearsing a set of songs to play live at the venue – our only shared language was music itself so there was no small talk, just intense concentration on the music.

On the final day, as the rehearsals had been so productive, we hooked up some recording equipment and took about 5 hours out to make this record.

We recorded several live takes of each song then chose the best versions. I added a harmony vocal overdub on two songs, otherwise it’s pretty much what we recorded at the time. Upon returning to Cardiff I took the songs to producer Kris Jenkins’s studio whose excitement for the album and general encouragement was infectious – then we called in noise legend Sir Doufus Styles to oversee the final mix.

Armed with 5 flasks of strong coffee, 75 sticks of gum and a bank of vintage compressors we mixed The Terror Of Cosmic Loneliness at extremely loud volume in one epic 12 hour session.

Tony Da Gatorra adds: Hello, peace my brothers, this record was made with lots of feelings and true love to bring consciousness and show a little bit of truth that needs to be said without hypocrisy. We are creatures of God, so there's no death. Spirit is light, all evil won't prevail – there's no evil when it crashes with goodwill. The Terror Of Cosmic Loneliness will be released on 26th July via OVNI / Turnstile Music.

We have some more shows to announce tomorrow, so we'll save that for another mailout. Please keep a track of us on twitter (follow @swnfestival) and on Facebook as we're faster at putting up gig and event news there. See you SWN.

Gruff Rhys' Separado Premieres at Canadian Film Festival - 18/03/2010

SEPARADO! (Dyl Jones and Gruff Rhys, UK/Argentina/Brazil). 84 minutes. Partially subtitled. Saturday (March 13), 1 pm, Royal. Rating: NNNN

Gruff Rhys, frontman for Super Furry Animals, traces his connection to South America's considerable Welsh community in this endearingly idiosyncratic film that explores Patagonian musical culture through a deliriously eccentric lens. Cross-pollinating ethnographic documentary and long-form music video – and fusing it all together with shots of Rhys teleporting from Cardiff to São Paulo in a Power Rangers helmet – it's defiantly weird and strangely heartfelt. NORMAN WILNER

Gruff Rhys on next Gorillaz Album - 29/01/2010

Gorillaz to release new album Plastic Beach in March
Damon Albarn's Gorillaz will release their third album in March, the band have announced.

Plastic Beach' will feature from music stars Lou Reed, Mos Def, Mark E Smith, Snoop Dogg, Bobby Womack, De La Soul and Super Furry Animals' Gruff Rhys, reports NME.

The Clash duo Mick Jones and Paul Simonon reunite on the title track of the album, which will be released on March 8. Lead single Stylo featuring cameos by rapper Mos Def and Bobby Womack has already leaked online. "Leeching is the wrong word now isn't it?" the band's frontman Murdoc Niccals told the magazine. "It's not like I've drawn blood or anything. No, I think the word 'coerced' sings the deal a little better. Although, yes, the coercion did come via chloroform and rohypnol." The new album tells the story of Plastic Beach HQ, "a secret floating island deep in the South Pacific". Niccals, Blur's Damon Albarn and artist Jamie Hewlett make up cartoon band Gorillaz.

The tracklisting for 'Plastic Beach':
1. Orchestral Intro (ft. Sinfonia ViVA)
2. Welcome to the World of the Plastic Beach (ft. Snoop Dogg and Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
3. White Flag (ft. Kano, Bashy, and the National Orchestra for Arabic Music)
4. Rhinestone Eyes
5. Stylo (ft. Bobby Womack and Mos Def)
6. Superfast Jellyfish (ft. Gruff Rhys and De La Soul)
7. Empire Ants (ft. Little Dragon)
8. Glitter Freeze (ft. Mark E Smith)
9. Some Kind of Nature (ft. Lou Reed)
10. On Melancholy Hill
11. Broken
12. Sweepstakes (ft. Mos Def and Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
13. Plastic Beach (ft. Mick Jones and Paul Simonon)
14. To Binge (ft. Little Dragon)
15. Cloud of Unknowing (ft. Bobby Womack and Sinfonia ViVA)
16. Pirate Jet

page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56
Melonie Walter       All Rights Reserved ©2003 - 2016       melonie at Top^