unofficially super furry animals - sfa - News. The Super Furry Animals, an SFA fansite, super furry animals - unofficially.


Uncut Music Award 2009 Launched Judging Panel Announced (SFA nominated) - 28/09/2009

Uncut magazine today launches the second ever Uncut Music Award, a quest to find the most inspiring and rewarding musical experience of the past 12 months.

The artists' nationality, age and sales figures are completely irrelevant as a judging panel of 10 industry figures will come together to decide on the winner. The judging panel is headed, once again, by Uncut’s editor, Allan Jones, and includes Robin Pecknold, the leader of 2008's winning band, Fleet Foxes.

Joining Allan and Robin will be Billy Bragg and the terrific young folk singer Rachel Unthank. Returning from last year will be the eminent broadcasters Mark Radcliffe, Bob Harris and Danny Kelly.

New faces on the team this year are the radio host Christian O'Connell, the BBC's Creative Head of Music Entertainment, Mark Cooper, and a music business legend – Dave Robinson, founder of Stiff Records.

A list of 25 albums to be considered by the panel for this year's award has been selected by Uncut. The list includes legendary veterans like Bob Dylan and major contemporary names including Kings Of Leon and Arctic Monkeys, as well as relatively unknown newcomers such as The Low Anthem, Wild Beasts and Fever Ray.

The inaugural award was presented last year to Fleet Foxes for their self titled debut album. Mark Radcliffe, judge said: "An extraordinary piece of work, and a worthy first winner of the prize,"

Allan Jones, editor of Uncut: "The inaugural Uncut Music Award was a resounding success, with Fleet Foxes in the opinion of last year’s panel the deserving winners, although there was fierce competition from The Raconteurs and Vampire Weekend. This year’s award looks like it will be just as hotly contested, with the judges facing a daunting task. There has been a lot of brilliant music over the last year, as our long list of 25 albums vividly demonstrates. Deciding which of them most merits winning the 2009 Uncut Music award is going to be an exciting process, but no easy task."

The Uncut Music Award long list in full:

1. The Acorn – Glory Hope Mountain (Bella Union)
2. Animal Collective – Merriweather Post Pavilion (Domino)
3. Arctic Monkeys - Humbug (Domino)
4. Bill Callahan – Sometimes I Wish We Were An Eagle (Drag City)
5. Graham Coxon – The Spinning Top (Parlophone)
6. Alela Diane – To Be Still (Names)
7. Dirty Projectors – Bitte Orca (Domino)
8. Doves – Kingdom Of Rust (Heavenly/EMI)
9. The Duke And The King – Nothing Gold Can Stay (Loose)
10. Bob Dylan – Together Through Life (Columbia)
11. Fever Ray – Fever Ray (Rabid/V2)
12. Grizzly Bear – Veckatimest (Warp)
13. Levon Helm – Electric Dirt (Vanguard)
14. The Horrors – Primary Colours (XL)
15. Kings Of Leon – Only By The Night (Columbia)
16. The Low Anthem – Oh My God Charlie Darwin (Bella Union)
17. Madness – The Liberty Of Norton Folgate (Lucky Seven)
18. Raphael Saadiq – The Way I See It (SonyBMG)
19. Super Furry Animals – Dark Days/Light Years (Rough Trade)
20. TV On The Radio - Dear Science (4AD)
21. Tinariwen- Imidiwan: Companions (Independiente)
22. White Denim – Fits (Full Time Hobby)
23. Wilco – Wilco (the album) (Nonesuch)
24. Wild Beasts – Two Dancers (Domino)
25. The xx – xx (XL)
The eight records that have made the shortlist will be announced in the November issue of Uncut (on sale October 27th). Then the judges will convene to choose the winner, with that being revealed in our January issue, out on November 24th.



Super Furry Animals are among 25 acts battling it out in the hunt for the year's best album, it was announced today.

The Psychedelic Welsh band are nominated for the Uncut Music Award, an international equivalent of the Mercury Prize, for Dark Days/Light Years.

The award's aim is to find the most inspirational release of the past 12 months with judges including Billy Bragg, Mark Radcliffe and Christian O'Connell.

Also in the running for the award to be announced on November 24 are acts such as Arctic Monkeys, Fever Ray, Grizzly Bear and Animal Collective.

Nominations for the prize, launched by respected music magazine Uncut, are chosen regardless of nationality, age and sales figures.

Also on the judging panel is Robin Pecknold, frontman of last year's winner, Fleet Foxes.

Allan Jones, editor of Uncut, said: "There has been a lot of brilliant music over the last year, as our long list of 25 albums vividly demonstrates. Deciding which of them most merits winning the 2009 Uncut Music award is going to be an exciting process, but no easy task."


Super Furry Animals writing song for kids' TV show 'Yo Gabba Gabba!'
Welsh band to provide music for US series from

Super Furry Animals are writing a song set to be aired on US childrens' TV show 'Yo Gabba Gabba!'.

The Welsh band revealed that the tune was in the pipeline although did not say whether they would appear in person on the show, as bands including MGMT and The Ting Tings (see video below for their performance) have.

"We're recording a song for 'Yo Gabba Gabba!', the crazy kids TV show at the moment," frontman Gruff Rhys told BBC News.

Elaborating on how he got in the zone to write the song, he added: "You drink lots of additives. You go to the shop and buy everything that's coloured orange or red and because you're grown up, you have to drink 50 times the amount a kid would need to go mental.

"Then you just play at hyper-speed and jump around and stuff."

page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56
Melonie Walter       All Rights Reserved ©2003 - 2016       melonie at Top^